The Trouble with Google is over-consolidation. If you’ve looked through my blog you won’t notice something. All of my photos, back through November 2009 are gone.
My new Google+ account is supposed to have a great system for sharing photos. I uploaded a bunch of my train photos last week and yesterday I was going to post my Photo Walk photos from Worldwide Photo Walk last Saturday. When I went into my photos where there had been only my train folder, now there were a bunch of folders! The folders were what I thought were copies of every photo I’d ever posted on any Google blog. Well, I switched over to G+ because the interface was too cluttered on Facebook. I did not want a cluttered gallery. So, I deleted a couple of the folders before I realized the message for okaying the delete was not “This action cannot be undone.” It was “This action will delete these photos from all Goggle products you use!”
It makes me mad. Why would they import all of my photos to a new product that I may or may not keep using? They didn’t COPY the photos, the MOVED the actual photos. Yes, it’s my fault because I didn’t read the warning, but I was not expecting my actual photo files to have been moved without even an email to notify me.
So now, it’s decision time. The first decision is not to use Google+. The people with whom I communicate on Facebook aren’t interested in moving, one friend even said she wouldn’t even consider it because she tried it and plain didn’t like it. Second, I wanted to leave Facebook because of the clutter. The clutter on Google+ is just as bad as Facebook for doing things without warning and more dangerous in the form of data loss!
The second decision, the bigger one, is what to do with The Chronicles of Nani and Davlicious? I lost 60 recipe photos and 2 years of main blog photos, roughly 400 there. The first thing I’ll do is replace photos to the first page so there aren’t naked spots. Then, I guess I’ll work my way backwards replacing photos. I have a copy of all of my blog entries in Word, so that ought to help, but every photo has to be relocked one entry at a time. I thought about just deleting my entries before the beginning of 2011. The problem with that is that when I read an interesting blog by someone new, I usually read their very first blog to get to know them. I’ve been blogging since 2008. Most of the first two years is still here, photos and all. It’s just the most recent years, including all of Journal Camp, which I’d hoped to leave up, although the pdf files are still available.
I’m thoroughly tired looking at the daunting task ahead. Putting the actual photo files for all of Google on a social networking site is Stupid. If you have opinions about what I ought to intentionally delete, let me know.